Fluvanna County Ruritan Club News

L-R Florence and Roman Bakke

L-R Florence and Roman Bakke (photo provided by Fluvanna Ruritan Club)

Florence Bakke, Roman Bakke, Dick Eaton, and Jim Tew of the Fluvanna County Ruritan Club have been busy fund-raising this summer at the Fridays after Five series at the Sprint Pavillion in Charlottesville by selling soft drinks.

Earlier in the year, the Fluvanna County Ruritan Club awarded two scholarships to college-bound graduating seniors from Fluvanna County High School. The Howard Cook Award for Citizenship in the amount of $250 was awarded to Eleanor Sechler, and the Fluvanna Ruritan Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 was awarded to Elisha Nicholas. The scholarships were awarded in May.

Jefferson VA Ruritan Holds 30th Annual Fundraising Dinner to Fund Scholarships

Groundhog day dinner – all you can eat pancake dinner (image from free clip art)



5 – 7 PM, SAT., FEB. 6th

All-you-can-eat pancakes, famous Tom Calhoun’s sausage,
‘Premium’ fried apples, desserts, coffee , tea ,etc.
>>> Free Door Prizes and Dinner Contest <<<

ADULTS – $6.95
Children under age 10 – $3.95

All Proceeds to annual Scholarships for local college bound students.
Sponsored by the Jefferson Ruritan Foundation of Culpeper, Inc.
IRS certified 501c3 non-profit. Direct donations are fully tax deductible.
For more info call 540-937-4541540-937-4541

White Hall Ruritan Awards Scholarships To Local Students

Scholarships awarded (free clip art)

Scholarships awarded (free clip art)

From The Crozet Gazette’s website:

Ruritan Scholarships Go to Frazier, Sandridge

The White Hall Ruritan Club awarded $1,000 scholarships to two 2015 Western Albemarle High School graduates in June.

Heather Frazier received the Dan Maupin Scholarship to attend James Madison University. She wants to teach English literature at the high school or college level.

Adeline Sandridge received the Walter Perkins Scholarship to attend the Frank Batten School for Leadership and Public Policy at the University of Virginia.

The scholarships are awarded annually to Crozet/White Hall-area students based on scholastic achievement and civic contributions.

The club also presented the Ann Campbell Awards for outstanding effort and achievement in academics to Micaela Barclay and Cody Frazier, both fifth grade students at Crozet Elementary School. These awards were accompanied by $50 gift certificates to Over the Moon Bookstore.

Jefferson Ruritan Foundation Awards College Scholarships to Two Local Students

L-R: Marshall O’Bannon, Perry Cabot, Tabitha O'Bannon, Timoty O'Bannon,Colin Elliot. Megan Elliot, Perry Cabot, David Rowe (photo provided by Jefferson (VA) Ruritan Club)

L-R: Marshall O’Bannon, Perry Cabot, Tabitha O’Bannon, Timoty O’Bannon,Colin Elliot. Megan Elliot, Perry Cabot, David Rowe (photo provided by Jefferson (VA) Ruritan Club and Foundation)

Jefferson Ruritan Foundation of Culpeper, Inc. awarded two local students with college scholarships this summer. The Jefferson Ruritan Foundation awards a $1,000 Thomas Rosenberger Memorial Scholarship and a $1,000 Allen Ellett Memorial Scholarship annually to local students.

Marshal O’Bannon, of Jeffersonton, was awarded the $1,000 Thomas Rosenberger Memorial Scholarship August 8, 2015, during a presentation held at the Jeffersonton Community Center. During the presentation, the history behind the scholarships were read aloud by Jefferson Ruritan Foundation of Culpeper’s Treasurer David Rowe. Mr. O’Bannon plans to attend Germanna Community College.

Megan Elliot, of Amissville, was awarded the $1,000 Allen Ellet Memorial Scholarship August 15, 2015, during a presentation at her home. Ms. Elliot plans to attend James Madison University.

The awards (checks and certificates) were presented to the recipients by the organization’s President, O. H. Perry Cabot.

About Jefferson Ruritan Foundation of Culpeper, Inc.:

The Jefferson Ruritan Foundation is a 501c3 non-profit corporation which has operated as a subsidiary of the Jefferson (VA) Ruritan Club since 2006 for the primary purpose of awarding scholarships to deserving local students. All donations and bequests to the Foundation are tax deductible/tax exempt.

About the Thomas Rosenberger Memorial Scholarship:

Thomas Medford Rosenberger, 1930–1999, was a life-long resident of Jeffersonton, one of the original charter members of the Jefferson Ruritan Club; and maintained perfect attendance for 52 consecutive years. “Tommie”, as he was affectionately known, was recognized throughout Culpeper as a shining example of a good neighbor who exercised a unique brand of brotherly love; and who applied his time, energy and skill to serving his community through multiple civic action projects. His legacy is a model of fellowship, goodwill, and service to the community.

About the Allen Ellett Memorial Scholarship:

Allen Franklin Ellett, 1923–2010, was a life-long resident of Jefferson District, joined the Club in its second year, 1948, and maintained perfect attendance for 55 years. Allen was recognized throughout the community for his cooperative spirit, exceptionally mild manner, and constant participation, regardless of adversity or personal hardship. His personal endowment of this award is a testament to his genuine desire for subsequent generations to hold fast to the principles which have served us so well. His legacy is a model of loyal fellowship, goodwill, and service.