Holly Grove Ruritan Honors Citizen of the Year, Installs New Officers for 2016

L-R Susan Anderson, Dianne Montgomery (photo provided by Holly Grove Ruritan Club)

L-R Susan Anderson, Dianne Montgomery (photo provided by Holly Grove Ruritan Club)

Holly Grove Ruritan honored Susan Anderson with the Citizen of the Year award at their December 8, 2015 meeting at their club house in Bumpass, VA. The Holly Grove Ruritan President, Dianne Montgomery presented Susan with a commemerative plaque.

Susan has lived in Holly Grove most of her life and has always given back to her community. She teaches kindergarten at Jouett Elementary School and has been a teacher there for 15 years. Susan packs backpacks with food at Hopeful Baptist Church each week to take to Jouett for children who may not have enough to eat over the weekend. She teaches Sunday School at Hopeful Baptist Church and helps with Bible School and other committees at the church. Susan is also a volunteer with the Louisa County High School Future Farmers of America and helps out with the Louisa Agriculture Fair every year. This year Susan was voted “Best EMS Provider” in the Louisa County “Best of 2015” campaign. She also received regional honors as the “Best EMS Provider.” Susan is a family and community minded person whom the Holly Grove Ruritan Club was proud to honor with this annual award.

Also during the December meeting, Ruritan National Director Sarah Kelly installed the incoming club officers for 2016: Alex MacDonald, President, Dianne Montgomery, Vice President, Sue Sheridan, Secretary, Kenneth Gammon, Treasurer, and Lesa Welton, Director. The new officers will serve in their positions from January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016, with the exception of the Director, who serves a three year term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *